Friday, June 19, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on May 5th 2015
Pages: 432
Source: Publisher

Purchase: Amazon|Book Depository

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Also by this author: Heir of Fire, The Assassin's Blade, Crown of Midnight

Only a flimsy magical barrier and an old as dirt treaty ‘protects’ the human world (Feyre’s world) from the wicked Faeries. Legends are full of warnings about the fey, but none helped her when one came to her home to drag her back to his. Everything is more beautiful, deceptive and cruel than she was ever taught, but she will also discover a brighter side to this foreign world. One she will start to appreciate. It might even have something to do with a certain masked fey lord…

A Court of Thorns and Roses is another awesome faerie world created by Sarah J.Maas, one with a completely (yet, as mesmerizing) different world than the Throne of Glass world. Faeries used to rule the world and after a savage war they retreated to their own territory, forced to release their human slaves. Their world is now split in 7 courts, each ruled by a Lord. Some aren’t happy about their predicament and are just waiting the right opportunity to take over the human world once more. Things of nightmare but also terrible (and sometimes deceptive) beauty mingle in this enchanted world beyond human reach.

I really, really liked the colorful and dangerous world Maas created and the rich story line to accompany it. Feyre is taken from her family, and treated as an esteemed guest in Tamlin’s manor. He is a bit awkard, but he is making efforts to be nice to her and eventually she will warm to his presence. I couldn’t help it, my mind kept screaming ‘Stockholm syndrome’ but at least the whole thing wasn’t creepy! He was actually courting her, for reasons we don’t know, but the whole thing is kinda sweet. She’s not any swooning girl though and she keeps her foul mouth and attitude at least until half the book. Her witty comments were great, and I LOVED her banter with Lucien. There were many great characters in this novel, but he was definitely my favorite. He is though, secretive, smart, has a shit attitude but he is as loyal as it gets. From beginning to end, he lived up to my expectations.

I find it super hard to talk about the plot without giving anything away… The novel is kind of split in two parts, Tamlin’s courting of Feyre and Feyre’s hopeless mission. The atmosphere in both part is soooo different you could almost believe it’s two different books. Feyre goes from lost girl in search of a purpose to a girl with a purpose that will most likely get her killed, yet she won’t give up. I really admired her strength and determination in this second part and I have to command her for it. Tamlin went from shy and flirty, yet mighty powerful, to groveling mute eye-candy. In the second Part, Feyre must complete three tasks to reach her goal and will gain unlikely allies along the way, and ohh were these task stress-inducing! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time.

The conclusion is a complete game changer and I was holding my breath during the final battle. I just couldn’t believe what I was reading! I really can’t wait for the next novel to discover the fallback of these events and where each character now stands. I haven’t mentioned Rhysand yet, but he was one of the great and surprising characters and I can’t wait to see the part he will play in the next installment.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is another amazing book by miss Maas and I strongly suggest you read it!

Read an excerpt

tynsignew

The following two tabs change content below.
Tynga is a 30 years old mom from Montreal, working as a lab technician in an hospital specialized in heart disease. In her free time, she enjoys reading all things Paranormal and blogging about them. Make sure to say hi on twitter!
Follow Tynga on: Facebook | Twitter

Latest posts by Tynga (see all)

6 People left their mark on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge